Can I Eat There? can’t guarantee the accuracy of restaurant and menu information on this site. The opinions expressed on our site are the views of contributors and users.
Can I Eat there? does not give advice or recommendations. What works for one person may not work for another. If in doubt please take advice from a medical practitioner or a qualified nutritionist.
Please take care of yourself when eating out: Always tell your server about your allergies. Always double-check ingredients when ordering. Call ahead to confirm that the restaurant can cater for your allergies when making a booking.
We’re here to help make life easier for people with food allergies, but we can’t be held responsible if the information on this site is wrong, or if the restaurant makes a mistake with your food.
There are 14 major allergens that new EU legislation requires to be declared when they are used as an ingredient in food. This means that any restaurant (or indeed other food provider) is now required by law to tell you which foods contain any of these 14 allergens. If a member of staff is asked about the presence of these allergens and doesn’t know the answer, they must ask someone who knows. This information must be accurate and verifiable.
Of course, there are food allergies and intolerances that aren’t covered by this EU legislation, but Can I Eat There? can only work with the information restaurants have to offer at this time. As the legislation expands to include new allergens, we will include them on this site.
Always be allergy aware: Can I Eat There? can’t guarantee the accuracy of restaurant and menu data. Always tell your waiter about your allergies and double-check the ingredients when ordering. If you have questions, please use the restaurant contact details provided and give them a call to confirm that they can cater for you before making a booking. And whether you have a good experience or bad, please leave a restaurant review to help others decide “Can I Eat There?”
The 14 EU allergens
This includes celery stalks, leaves, seeds and the root (called celeriac). Places you'll find celery include celery salt, salads, some meat products, soups and stocks/stock cubes.
Crabs, lobster, prawns, shrimp and scampi. Watch out for shrimp paste, often used in Thai and south-east Asian curries or salads.
Often found in cakes, some meat products, mayonnaise, sauces, pastries and foods brushed or glazed with egg.
Includes all types of fish, including common fish like cod, mackerel and salmon. Watch out for fish sauces, pizzas, relishes, salad dressings, stock cubes and Worcestershire sauce.
This includes all cereals containing gluten, namely wheat (including spelt and Khorasan wheat), barley, rye and oats. Oats don't naturally include gluten, but cross-contamination can occur during farming, so only oats labelled gluten-free should be considered totally free from. These cereals can be found in baking powder, couscous, meat products, pasta, pastry, sauces, soups and battered fried foods.
Lupin flour is made from the seeds of lupin flowers (those tall, spiked garden flowers). It's used more commonly in other parts of Europe than in the UK, but you may find it in some types of breads, pastries and pastas.
Includes all products made from milk - cheese, butter, yoghurt, cream, etc. Watch out for milk in powdered soups and sauces, as well as biscuits, breads and cakes.
Mussels, oysters, land snails, squid and whelk. Oyster sauce is a common ingredient in many dishes, including fish stews.
Commonly found in breads, curries, marinades, meat products, salad dressings, sauces and soups - and some sandwiches, of course.
Also known as groundnuts, peanuts are found in items like biscuits, cakes, curries, desserts and sauces (particularly satay sauces), as well as peanut flour and groundnut oil.
Includes sesame seeds and sesame oil. Found in tahini (sesame paste), hummus (made with tahini), as well as a wide range of food from breads and breadsticks to chutneys and salad dressings as well as stir-fries, Thai, Chinese and Middle Eastern foods.
A staple ingredient in oriental food, soya is often found in bean curd, edamame beans, miso paste, textured soya protein, tofu, desserts, meat products, sauces and vegetarian products. Soya is often used as a dairy alternative, e.g. soya milk, yoghurt, cheese.
Sulphur dioxide or sulphites are often used as a preservative in dried fruit like raisins, dried apricots and prunes. Can also be found in meat products, soft drinks, vegetables, wine and beer. People with asthma have a higher risk of developing a reaction to sulphur dioxide.
Tree nuts are not to be mistaken with peanuts, which are actually a legume and grow underground. Tree nuts grow on trees, including almonds, hazelnuts, walnuts, pecan nuts, Brazil nuts, pistachio, macadamia and cashew. Nuts commonly appear in breads, biscuits, crackers, desserts, nut powders (often used in Asian curries), stir-fries, ice cream, marzipan (almond paste), nut oils and sauces.